• Home
  • News
  • AAPM celebrates 25 years of fulfilling UPV education

AAPM celebrates 25 years of fulfilling UPV education

The Affirmative Action Program for Mindanao or AAPM was a UP System program that aimed to extend the benefits of UP education to students from Mindanao who do not have access to it. The mandate for implementing it was given to UPV specifically to the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) during Academic Year 1991-1992 and was later transferred to the Office of Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs beginning Academic Year 1994-1995.

The AAPM Committee oversaw the six-year implementation and evaluation of the program and worked to assist in the academic and personal development of the grantees. In various years of its implementation, the members of the committee who worked to achieve the goals of the program were: Ms. Carmencita Simpas-Handinero, Prof. Diana Edna G. Corda, Ms. Azucena P. Pestaño, Prof. Celia F. Parcon, Prof. Marilyn Z. Alcarde, Prof. Emmeline L. Cabalum, Ms. Miriam Bethel Estenor, Prof. Gianina P. Cainglet, Ms. Mylene M. Mondejar and Prof. May D. Pison as the last Chairperson. The University Research Associates of the program were Romeo dela Cruz Jr. (1991-1993), Sonja Yasmin C. Gacutan-Jusayan (1994), Fe P. Villanueva-Tafalla (1995), Alice Prieto-Carolino (1992-1996) and Cherry Pilapil-Anasco (1996-1998; AAPM 1st batch grantee).

There were 6 batches with a total of 335 grantees from all over Mindanao that benefited from the program. Unique in its implementation were the financial, psycho-social and learning assistance that were provided to the grantees during their stay in the Miagao and Iloilo city campuses. Roughly 65% of them eventually graduated from UPV.

After 25 years, many have returned to Mindanao and are making considerable impact in their chosen careers. To name some, they are: Shirlyn Banas-Nograles (1st batch), currently on her 3rd term as Vice Mayor of General Santos City; Dr. Glenn Segocio and Dr. Cristine Morales (2nd batch), medical doctors who are based in Kidapawan City; El Cid Castillo (3nd batch), Provincial Director of TESDA in North Cotabato; Geldolin Inte (3rd batch), Acting Dean of the CAS of Capitol University in Cagayan de Oro City; Daniel Dale Penano (3rd batch), Associate Pastor of the Independent Baptist Churches in the Philippines based in Davao City; Shiera Lyn Loria (4th batch), Manager, Land Bank of the Philippines-Lebak Branch; Dr. Syril Bren Guillermo (4th batch), Interventional Cardiologist based in Davao City; Leoncio P. Tan (5th batch), Teacher 3 at the President Roxas High School in North Cotabato; and Leolyn Nyle Diaz-Bade (6th batch), a faculty of the University of Southern Mindanao.

In their various endeavors, as individual persons and as a group, the AAPM grantees champion the values of honor, excellence, and service to the country and humanity – they are living testimonies to the lasting contribution that the AAPM has done in fulfilling the ideals of UPV education. (Source: APPM Group)

 Print  Email

New Administration Building, Miagao, Iloilo, Philippines 5023
(033) 315-9494
ipo@upv.edu.ph, ipo.upvisayas@up.edu.ph