• Home
  • News
  • UPV watches via live stream the presentation of UP President nominees

UPV watches via live stream the presentation of UP President nominees

It used to be that the process in the search for the President of the University of the Philippines would entail the nominees to visit the constituent universities (CUs) and to present their respective vision statements including their plans and programs for a six-year term. Nowadays, advances in technology has made it possible for the search process to be done through live streaming.

On October 13, 2016, the faculty, students, research and administrative staff of UP’s constituent universities all over the country, from UP Baguio up north to UP Mindanao down south, watched the six nominees vying to be the next President present their vision statement.

Streamed from the UP Film Institute Media Center, UP Diliman, the nominees were also able to answer questions not only from the audience at the venue but also from the various CUs.

The nominees for the next UP President are the following: Danilo L. Concepcion, the current Dean of the College of Law, UP Diliman; Gisela P. Concepcion, current UP Vice-President for Academic Affairs; J. Prospero E. De Vera III, former UP Vice President for Public Affairs and recently appointed as CHED Commissioner; Rowena Cristina L. Guevara, current DOST Undersecretary for Scientific and Technological Services; Benito M. Pacheco, current Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs, UP Diliman; and Caesar A. Saloma, former UP Diliman Chancellor and Professor of Physics of the same campus.

The next UP President will be appointed by the UP Board of Regents and will replace outgoing President Alfredo E. Pascual whose term will end on February 2017.

 Print  Email

New Administration Building, Miagao, Iloilo, Philippines 5023
(033) 315-9494
ipo@upv.edu.ph, ipo.upvisayas@up.edu.ph