UPV hosts Salomon X-Trail Run 2017 Iloilo

Written by Ms. Lyncen M. Fernandez on .

“Run the path of most resistance.”

With this in mind, trail runners from all over the country trooped to the scenic campus of UP Visayas in Miagao, Iloilo to participate in the Salomon X-Trail Run 2017 Iloilo circuit for the 8, 14, and 24K distances with male and female categories.

Probably one of the most unique campuses in the Philippines, UPV Miagao has a coastline view of Panay Gulf and Guimaras Island on the south side and back-dropped by the majestic mountain ranges of Igbaras and Antique on the north. Its 1,200-hectare-land area is filled with trees, lake crossings, and undulating hills that connects to the higher peaks on the north and makes it an ideal place for trail running.

Salomon, a sports equipment manufacturing company founded in France in 1947,is known for creating gears for outdoor sports using new technologies and marked by craftsmanship to enable its wearer to “freely enjoy and challenge themselves in the great outdoors.”

The company has been organizing trail runs all over the world for decades while it marked its sixth year of trail running in various parts of the Philippines this year.

Miagao Mayor Macario Napulan, himself and avid walker and mountain trekker, signed up for and ran the 14K after welcoming guests and participants. Prof. Ruben Gamala, Director of the UPV Office of Student Affairs, said words of welcome on behalf of UPV Chancellor Ricardo Babaran.

The winners for the 24K are as follows: Male – John Ray Onifa, 1st; Edmer Orcena, 2nd; Jay Mirasol, 3rd; Female – Agustoralin Sabanal, 1st; Roma Gonzales, 2nd; and Sharon Rose Torres, 3rd. For the 14K, the male winners are: Michael Benedicto, 1st; Deegee Gavile, 2nd; Hyarmel Harder, 3rd; the female winners – Lauren Ryan, 1st; Eden Ma Fuentes, 2nd; and Kristine Sta. Rita, 3rd. For the 8K the male winners are: Icey Molavin, 1st; John Caleb Carlin, 2nd; Dleifhcir Molavin, 3rd; the female winners – Ma. Luz Sophia Dellosavo, 1st; Vanessa Perlas, 2nd; and Jhelyn Miatapal, 3rd.

Race Director Atty. Aldean Philip Lim, himself a UPV alumnus (BS Economics 2004), thanked the Miagao LGU for its all-out support of the event and the UPV administration for serving as its host.